Unapologetic progressive. Fearless activist. Plucky liberal.

I don't regret it

Unemployment is high and likely to remain that way for years. Soldiers keep dying in the Middle East. No one understands the new health care law. The deficit is soaring. The birth rate is down. The cleanup in the Gulf of Mexico will take years.

None of that is President Barack Obama’s fault. He inherited a mess of epic proportions from the preceding Bush administration.

Is it his responsibility to solve those problems? Absolutely. And I believe he is doing his best on all fronts.

The problem is, as Rick says, that Americans have a short attention span. They are hurting, and they want things fixed now. Yesterday. They won’t want to hear jobs won’t be coming back until next year, or the year after, or they might not come back at all.

I understand that, and I sympathize with it. I see people out begging on street corners with alarming regularity. There’s nothing more I’d like to do than to create jobs for them out of thin air.

What many people forget is that these are huge, systemic problems. No one can wave a magic wand and make them better overnight. If John McCain had been elected, there’s a good chance he would be facing the same mess Obama is. McCain and the rest of the Republicans don’t have a panacea up their sleeves. If they did, they would have shared it with the rest of us. They can talk all they want about cutting taxes and reducing spending, but they don’t have any actual concrete policy ideas.

This is not to say I agree with everything Obama does or says. I don’t. I disagree with his decision to appeal the recent ruling halting “don’t ask, don’t tell.” I disagree and am disappointed with his stance on same-sex marriage. I don’t like how condescending his administration often seems to the press and their genuine attempts to seek honest information. I’m angry about all the concessions he has given anti-abortion activists in their attempt to outlaw a legal medical procedure.

But knowing what I know now, would I make the same decision I did in 2008 to vote for Obama?

In a heartbeat. I don’t regret that choice and I would do it again in a nanosecond.

Comments on: "I don't regret it" (1)

  1. Peg Busard said:

    Ditto

Leave a Reply

