Unapologetic progressive. Fearless activist. Plucky liberal.

Happy Thanksgiving

To everyone who celebrates it, happy Thanksgiving! To those who don’t, I hope you’re having a great day anyway surrounded by family and friends. I saw these greetings in Annie’s Mailbox that I thought were appropriate to share:

“Everyday Thanksgiving” (Author Unknown)

Even though I clutch my blanket and growl when the alarm rings each morning, thank you, Lord, that I can hear. There are many who are deaf.

Even though I keep my eyes tightly closed against the morning light as long as possible, thank you, Lord, that I can see. There are many who are blind.

Even though I huddle in my bed and put off the effort of rising, thank you, Lord, that I have the strength to rise. There are many who are bedridden.

Even though the first hour of my day is hectic, when socks are lost, toast is burned and tempers are short, thank you, Lord, for my family. There are many who are lonely.

Even though our breakfast table never looks like the pictures in magazines and the menu is at times unbalanced, thank you, Lord, for the food we have. There are many who are hungry.

Even though the routine of my job is often monotonous, thank you, Lord, for the opportunity to work. There are many who have no job.

Even though I grumble and bemoan my fate from day to day and wish my circumstances were not so modest, thank you, Lord, for the gift of life.

“Things to Be Thankful For” (Author Unknown)

Be thankful for the clothes that fit a little too snug, because it means you have enough to eat.

Be thankful for the mess you clean up after a party, because it means you have been surrounded by friends.

Be thankful for the taxes you pay, because it means that you’re employed. Be thankful that your lawn needs mowing and your windows need fixing, because it means you have a home.

Be thankful for your heating bill, because it means you are warm.

Be thankful for the laundry, because it means you have clothes to wear.

Be thankful for the space you find at the far end of the parking lot, because it means you can walk.

Be thankful for the lady who sings off-key behind you in church, because it means you can hear.

Be thankful people complain about the government, because it means we have freedom of speech.

Be thankful for the alarm that goes off in the early morning hours, because it means you’re alive.

Comments on: "Happy Thanksgiving" (2)

  1. Very nice. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Uncle Dave said:

    Yes – we all ned to count our blessings !

    Be PEACEFUL for today !

Leave a Reply

