Unapologetic progressive. Fearless activist. Plucky liberal.

I (heart) Anthony Weiner

keepyourboehneroutofmyuterus.tumblr.com

I’m not a big-city person. I grew up in the country and that’s where I feel most comfortable. If I ever move to New York City, it will be so I can be a constituent of Rep. Anthony Weiner, D-N.Y. He is my congressional crush. He has progressive values and he is loud and unashamed about it. He also has a great sense of humor. I follow him on Twitter (@RepWeiner) and he always has a biting and insightful comment. When President Obama gave his speech on how to reduce the deficit, Weiner tweeted, “why im not president. my version : ‘the gop plan is a disaster and ill chew my arm off before i sign it.'” And when the government was close to shutting down over Republicans’ refusal to fund birth control, he tweeted, “Here’s an idea, if the final issues are about women’s health, hows about we let a few women in ‘the room.’ #theygetit” He uses hashtags like #timeforourteamtoplayoffense and #democratswhofight.

In short, he’s everything my representative, although a Democrat, is not, and I wish that he were. Below is a recent video of Weiner’s speech at the Congressional Correspondents’ Dinner.

Comments on: "I (heart) Anthony Weiner" (4)

  1. I cannot connect to the utbue video. Could it be an incomplete address?

    • For some reason the video addresses are not showing up on the e-mails. If you go to the blog home page or click on the URL link in your e-mail (which is in the header e-mail information), you will be able to see the video.

  2. Uncle Dave said:

    Yes – you are right on again; Weiner is a great represenative of the people

    and wants the best for all of us !

    I, also, appreciate his efforts for the best interest of the People !

  3. […] sent the pictures and lied about it. That shows his character wasn’t as upstanding as I’d hoped it was. I don’t think he should resign, but I do think an ethics investigation and any subsequent […]

Leave a Reply

