Unapologetic progressive. Fearless activist. Plucky liberal.

My newest Internet addiction is the food blog TasteSpotting. I have been looking through the more than 3,500 pages of recipes since my cousin introduced me to it a few weeks ago. There are lots of recipes I want to try, but two that I have already experimented with are for bread. The first was cornmeal honey bread, and it looked great in the photos, but it turned out hard as a lump because the yeast didn’t rise.

I was a bit perplexed because I’ve made homemade pizza dough many times, and it’s never had a problem rising. I did some investigation online and found out temperature is very important when using yeast. If the water you mix with the yeast is too cold, it won’t activate; too hot, and it will die. I really had no idea how warm my tap water is, so I bought an inexpensive food thermometer. The hot end of my tap is around 115 degrees F, ideal for yeast; lukewarm is about 90 degrees. The water I’d used for the cornmeal honey bread was way too hot because I’d also heated it in my microwave for a bit.

The next yummy-looking bread recipe I saw was for French baguettes. I love the baguettes I get at the store and with my soup at Panera, so I thought I’d try making my own, now that I had a better idea how to proceed. And sure enough, with the right water temperature the yeast proofed right up. The rest of the mixing and kneading went well. My only problem came when I put the baguettes in the oven. My oven runs extremely hot, so I have to keep a careful eye on whatever I put in there. Unfortunately it also means things tend to brown faster on the bottom than on the top. I rotated the bread pans a couple of times, but the bottoms still came out crisper than the tops. That might also be because I used too much egg wash on the tops.

Overall, though, this experiment went much better than the previous one, and I’m eager to try again. One of these days I’ll figure out how to get an even browning! If you have any good tips to share, feel free.

Comments on: "Experiments in baking bread" (6)

  1. Lori Woody said:

    Thanks for spreading the word about TasteSpotting.com. I am completely obsessed with this website and this is coming from someone who doesn’t like to cook. Can’t wait to share my creations with you this weekend (Butterbeer Cupcakes and Mexican Hot Chocolate Snickerdoodles!)

    • Mmm, sounds good. I’ve also found a couple of recipes I plan to share this weekend.

  2. They look very good, expecially for your first try. I can’t wait to taste your yummy bread.

    • Thanks! I put three of the baguettes in the freezer and was planning to bring one down this weekend. Hopefully it will thaw out OK.

  3. Jane McClure said:

    I’m proud of you for being brave enough to try things that aren’t so easy to make. You’ve tried such a variety of things that many people are scared to attempt. Jumping in & doing it is the only way you’ll be successful at it and I applaud you for doing that.

    • Thank you! Some of the experiments have turned out better than others, but I’m determined to get the hang of bread.

Leave a Reply

