Unapologetic progressive. Fearless activist. Plucky liberal.

That’s what President Obama said on a conference call last week to Organizing for America summer organizers. It was a thrill to hear from him, even if he wasn’t speaking directly to me. It energized me for a summer of recruiting volunteers and building a foundation of support for the president’s re-election campaign.

The program started officially on June 4, and we’ve been ramping up our efforts ever since. I’ve made hundreds of calls, set up phone banks and met with community members to get them involved. It’s been a challenge because I’m forming a team from scratch, but it’s also been fun to get to know people with similar views. My state is so red that I sometimes feel like the only Democrat around, so it’s nice to know that’s not true, and many people are just as excited as I am to get President Obama re-elected.

The summer organizing position is an unpaid part-time job on top of my full-time job, so I’m going to be very busy the next few weeks. Unfortunately it doesn’t leave me a lot of time to work on blog posts, and it’s fallen to Rick to pick up my slack. He’s been doing a great job but he has other things to focus on as well, so please bear with us if we’re quieter than usual this summer. Hopefully you have nice weather to enjoy and you’re not sitting in front of your computer waiting for us to post.

Leave a Reply

